Never let me go – Kazuo Ishiguro

September 21, 2007

Never Let Me Go

Never let me go is a first person narrative by Kazuo Ishiguro, which happens to be my favorite method of story delivery. The book begins slowly, but suddenly turns so brutal – it is like waking you up on a early morning, slapping you hard and sprinkling your face with ice-cold water. What’s unique about this book is not the fact that you are now wide awake, but the fact that you might be wondering ‘Man! What a way to wake up?’.

The story begins in a quaint British countryside school in Hailsham, and is narrated by Kath. Throughout the novel, there is no mention of the time period during which the novel takes place, but once the story starts unfolding you become aware that the period is not really of much importance. The children in the school live their lives without any exposure to the outside world, and this is a continuing trend throughout the novel – the central characters are always detached from the external world. I think this is one of the most intriguing aspects of the book, as this characteristic alone makes you wonder about humanity, and what it really means.

Anyways, it is really hard to talk about the book without having to divulge any of its suspense. So I will stop right here, and let you enjoy it.

One Response to “Never let me go – Kazuo Ishiguro”


  1. […] Kazuo Ishiguro ISBN: 0571224121 DDC: 823.914 See also: Wikipedia ; Slate review ; The Dish ; stop motion My name is Kathy H. I’m thirty-one years old, and I’ve been a carer now for over eleven […]


Leave a comment